Living In Faith September 3, 2014

“Humility is a by-product that allows us to grow and develop in an atmosphere of freedom and removes the fear of becoming known by our employers, families, or friends as addicts.” NA Basic Text pp 75-76

“Now in the place He was crucified there was a garden, and in the garden a new tomb in which no one had yet been laid.” John 19:41

 

Too often the word humility is mistaken for humiliation. Humiliation results in shame and lack of self-esteem. Humility on the other hand is freedom from arrogance and pride. It is a deep sense of our utter dependence upon a Higher Power and submission to Gods’ divine will. Humility is a by-product of my recovery. Each day presents a new opportunity to rely on Gods will instead of my own.

Anonymity goes hand in hand with humility. By being anonymous in our recovery we don’t have a need to boast to everyone how good we are because we are in a program. Many however, might take this blog as boasting. This is not boasting. I am merely trying to reach out to those who may be homebound or in areas where there is not a meeting. I don’t boast about my own recovery because it is not my doing but rather the reliance on allowing my Higher Power to bring me back to a point of sanity. Anonymity to me is like what Jesus taught about giving. Matthew 6:3-4 “ But when you give to the needy, do not let your left hand know what your right hand is doing, so that your giving may be done in secret. And your Father who sees in secret will reward you.”

Recovery is a gift and something to be grateful for. I know I am grateful for my recovery. No more lying, cheating or stealing to get what I “want”. No more being ashamed to show my face in public because of what certain people may think of me. I am a recovering addict. Recovery and allowing my Higher Powers will to dictate my actions and reactions enables me to walk in peace in public.

The Scripture verse for today is also an example of our recovery. Christ was crucified near a garden. In this garden was a brand new tomb which had not been used. Our recovery is like that in some ways. Everyone seen our destructive ways while we were using, but we have now laid that old self in the ground and a new us emerges.

Leave a comment

Filed under September 2014

Leave a Reply

