Living In Faith September 11, 2014

“We learn to become flexible……As new things are revealed, we feel renewed.” NA Basic Text p102

“and have put on the new self, which is being renewed in knowledge after the image of its creator.”

Col 3:10

 

butterflyImagine walking in a thick forest. While the breeze is calm, the thinner trees sway while the thicker trees barely move. As the breeze becomes a heavy wind, trees of all sizes are breaking except for a few that bend to the weight of the wind. That’s flexibility. Flexibility is something we forgot when we were drinking and using. Flexibility didn’t even exist in our character, unless it got us what we wanted at the time. We didn’t bend under pressure, we broke. We didn’t want anybody’s advice about our addiction because frankly we weren’t as bad as those other addicts. It wasn’t until we “broke” spiritually, emotionally, physically or financially that we realized that indeed we were just like all the other addicts.

I fought the fact that I was an addict for a long time. I thought that I could quit taking pills at any time. I thought that way at least until I ran out of pills and began scurrying around like a chipmunk looking for more. Didn’t matter what type of pain killer or how old it was, I just needed another fix. Now I wasn’t strung out or out in the streets. No. I was a closet addict. I realize now that in some ways that is kinda worse than being an addict strung out on the street.

Once I fully realized I was an addict, I began to go to meetings. Steps 1 and 2 were fairly easy for me. Yea, I knew I had a problem that I was powerless over and I already believed in a Higher Power that could restore me. However the third step of turning my will and my life over to my Higher Power as I understood Him was a bit of a roadblock. My family is the Heinz 57 of religion. You name the denomination and chances are good that at one time or another we were affiliated. I never KNEW my God or Higher Power regardless of what church I went to or even what denomination ordained me.

Our Steps each have spiritual principles. Spiritual principles will develop a belief system in you that brings you back to sanity and staying clean. The cool thing is that your idea of a Higher Power doesn’t necessarily have to be my idea. Spirituality is a heart to Creator thing. In my case, I believe in an all-powerful, all-loving and omnipotent God. He created me and I have a connection to Him as He has to me. I read through todays Just For Today and was reminded of Pauls’ letter to Collssae where he speaks about practical living. NA Basic Text reads “as new things are revealed, we feel renewed.” Paul, speaking from a spiritual perspective says pretty much the same thing; “and have put on the new self, which is being renewed in knowledge after the image of its creator.”

Our sponsors reveal new things to us about clean time. The stories of other addicts help us to grow. The same is true when we keep spiritual principles involved with our recovery. More of Gods will is revealed and we are renewed daily. Humility, open-mindedness and willingness are the spiritual cornerstones of our recovery. Be renewed today.

Leave a comment

Filed under September 2014

Leave a Reply

